ready…set…go…part deux

Sometimes, for the Christian, we want so desperately to be the best Christian we can be…and who wouldn’t? I mean, I want to glorify God as best I can! The kicker…I can’t. I will never be able to glorify God. I am inadequate to the task. I am a sinner. I was born into sin. I naturally want to sin. I naturally choose to sin. How can I ever glorify God? How can I truly be free from the bondage of the sin I naturally choose? Because of the Gospel.

We will never measure up. No matter how hard we will try to be the best Christian we can be, we will never measure up. We can search scriptures, immerse ourselves in ministry, and do as much “good” as possible all in the name of being the best Christian we can be…but if that is where our source of fulfillment comes from we have suddenly made being a Christian an idol. What?!

What is an idol? Anything we elevate higher than Christ.

“The temptation to secure for ourselves something we think we need in order to be happy…” – this is sin: Tullian Tchividjian

I had to look at my heart this week. I had to deeply examine what I was holding most dear…it wasn’t pretty. If we all deeply examined our hearts…what would we find? If we did an honest examination of what we run to for fulfillment, would we be proud to share it with a friend?

I have allowed the many hurts of my life shape my response to situations in life. I made fear an idol. I made pride an idol. I made all the “good” things I had done an idol. I made marriage an idol. I made my need for the one who hurt me to “get there’s” in the end my idol. I made food an idol. I made music an idol. I made….everything an idol. I made participating in corporate worship through guitar playing or piano playing or mandolin playing or singing an idol. All of these things I sought after because I convinced myself the temporary relief I would find in my pride, in my fear, in my revenge, in a marriage, in music, in food, or in worship would fulfill me somehow in a way Christ never could. I bought into the lie that Christ wasn’t enough…so I needed to take up where He was obviously falling short.

Lori, how is this all coming together? Where are you going with all of this?

For the first time in my life I realized I don’t have to do anything to be better…I already am better because of the saving grace Christ displayed on the cross. Sanctification isn’t something I can achieve…it’s something I have already achieved.

“Day by day, what God wants us to experience practically only happens as we come to a deeper understanding of what we are positionally – a deeper understanding of what’s already ours.” What’s already ours? “Our Savior has already sweepingly secured all that we crave and need.” Tullian Tchividjian

“You’ve already been: qualified, delivered, transferred, redeemed, and forgiven.” Tullian Tchividjian

“May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.” (Colossians 1:11-14 ESV)

Look at the grammar used here by Paul…it’s all past tense! “who has QUALIFIED you” – past tense; “He has delivered us” – past tense; “transferred us” – past tense…all this so we can presently have “redemption, the forgiveness of sins.”

It’s has already happened. When God sees us now, He doesn’t see “us”, but rather sees Christ covering us. So instead of seeing imperfect sinners He sees His perfect Son.

Perfect. Could there be any better news?

So, what does this mean? That’s for part three…

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “ready…set…go…part deux

  1. Timothy Dale Edwards

    “My grace is sufficient for you,…”
    This is something I am curently being taught. Or is it, being reminded of?

  2. You’re precious to me, Tim.

    His grace is indeed sufficient. So, when I feel as though my very insides are being torn apart and I can’t seem to fathom one more moment on this earth, I close my eyes and remind myself of His abundant grace.

    One moment at a time, right?

Leave a Reply

