gearing up for a drive…

Tomorrow I will be taking a bit of a drive…well, a long drive actually, to South Carolina, North Carolina, and Indiana! Pop, Mom, Aunt Wanda, and I will be taking a ten day trip to the East coast and back. I’m really excited and quite petrified all at the same time.

In between visiting sweet relatives in South Carolina and Indiana, a stop in North Carolina is happening. For what, you ask? To visit The Master’s Mission. I am actively seeking God’s direction in officially declaring my intentions to dedicate my life to serving God through Global missions. TMM is an organization which would offer the training necessary to live in undeveloped areas of the world. I have a strong burden for unreached people groups, and I have a strong pull to TMM.

I’m really excited, but I’m really scared, too. This is a defining moment. No more fence riding…this is it (minus the Michale Jackson thing). There are always “issues” when it comes to life, and joining TMM is no exception. However, I’m trusting in God’s sovereign grace and mercy. No matter how impossible the road before me seems, I know this is His will for my life right now. Until He shows me something different I will continue on with this current direction. Now, I don’t know for certain that TMM is what God desires for me, which is why I need to visit.

I am excited about the possibilities of TMM training. I would join as a single, and would go through the “men” training. This means I will learn things such as:

  1. architecture
  2. well digging
  3. solar energy
  4. wind energy
  5. mechanics
  6. cement work
  7. welding
  8. etc…

How cool is all of that!?!?!

I always thought I should have been born a boy…ok…just track with me a bit….

I was never a “girly” girl. I have no problem getting dirty, doing yard work, putting things together, hauling heavy loads….I always thought I was geared more for “rough” things. Maybe because I was being designed to be self-sufficient? To have the aptitude and drive to learn things not traditionally suited a girl?

I don’t know…but it makes sense in my mind.

Don’t get me wrong…I enjoy a beautiful pair of high heels! I have a closet full, and I adore every pair….but I also don’t mind digging holes for fence posts or sitting on a tractor. I’m strange like that.

SOooooo….

I say all this to ask you to pray for our upcoming trip! We leave tomorrow afternoon and will be back in approximately ten days. Pray for travel mercies, God’s wisdom and discernment, and for wonderful visits with family and friends along the way.

Isaiah 6:8

“And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.””

Here am I. Send me, O Lord!

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, Kenya

2 responses to “gearing up for a drive…

  1. Richard Fiese

    So pleased that you are finding a “new” direction in and for your life within this ministry. I cannot imagine the forces of emotion that are stressing you, but I know you know that you are not alone (it is curiously analagous to “wheels on the cross”). God has great plans for you and His plans always come to pass–not always in ways that we can see or even understand. I hope and trust that you continue to grow in your knowledge and love of Jesus and that you are able to serve Him with all of the many gifts that you have. I have to confess that I laughed when I read that you would have to undergo “men training.” Given that you had just written that you would enter as a single and have to enter “men training” I was not certain what kind of a ministry you were considering. I pray that God will continue to bless you richly to His glory.

Leave a Reply

