breaking in my “missionary” shoes…

This past Sunday I spent the morning at The Fellowship of Alvin. It was a really wonderful experience, and I was blessed beyond measure by this small, yet faithful congregation. A long time friend, S, has been championing for me and my ministry. Really she has been championing for the Lord. She has be so faithful to always support my ministry wherever it takes me. Donating garage sale items, praying, and spreading the word. I am abundantly thankful for her, and, while we are not “close”, I am so glad I can call her friend. Not because of what she does for me, but because through her faithfulness I can clearly see the Lord. Who wouldn’t want a friend like that!?!?

So, back to this past Sunday…

I took my mom with me, as well as two friends, and headed to the little church. I immediately felt welcomed and at home. The patrons called me by my first name, and I felt loved. They truly loved me, and were so incredibly supportive of my ministry. I sang a song about faith, and then proceeded to give my testimony/rundown of my ministry. It was a wonderful time of fellowship, and a fantastic opportunity for me to give thanks to these faithful ones. It couldn’t have been a better experience, and I am so glad to call The Fellowship of Alvin a supporting church…my FIRST one!

I’ve been feeling lost as of late, and exceedingly without purpose. Being able to go to a church where my ministry was important to them, and to give my testimony, made me feel as though I were working towards something…accomplishing something. Satan has been very successful at getting me to think and feel as though I were a complete failure….in everything. Lately I seem to have no patience, and I always say the wrong thing at the wrong time. I’ve pushed very important people away, and while I have apologized…it may never be right again. Satan wants me to dwell upon these incidents, and to let those feelings fester. If I do…it cripples me and keeps me from growing and learning all that I need to learn before I depart. It keeps me from accomplishing what it is that God has set before me before I depart. It keeps me from the Lord.

Even when I think I’m really in the groove…in the “Christian” groove…I’m still settling for mediocrity. I will fail; all the time I will fail. I will never get “it” right. I do know, that I just have to keep moving forward. Especially when I don’t feel like it, and when I feel like I’m as far away from God as I possibly could be…like right now.

I don’t think I’ve ever felt more alone than I do right now, and I know it is only going to be worse when I move. The last few weeks have been chaos, and this week is going to be the worst one yet. I wonder if I’m doing the right thing, but then I come face to face with some wonderful individuals who had never met me…yet they loved me.

So, many thanks to The Fellowship of Alvin! Thank you for your love and support, and thank you for reminding me that I’m on the right track.

Pray for me this week.

  1. Pray that my yard sale this Friday and Saturday would be an immense success.
  2. Pray that I could finish getting moved without much trouble.
  3. Pray for my Dad, as he is not doing well physically this week.
  4. Pray for me. My heart is so heavy, and I’m grieving much.
  5. Pray for endurance to make it through the week. Huge yard sale, and finishing the move…it all has to be done this week.
  6. Pray for a job for the next two months.
  7. Pray that the financial support would continue to come in so that plane tickets could be bought in the next week or two (preferably in the next week).
  8. Pray for reconciliation.

Thank you for your support and prayers. Without it I would be lost.

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, Kenya

One response to “breaking in my “missionary” shoes…

  1. Nancy

    praying for you

Leave a Reply

