stripped away…

What more? I’ve stripped it all away. The first step in following Christ is to die to yourself and trust in Him. You give up that which you treasure and trust that God will restore your heart with Him.

Elizabeth Elliot put it so well. She said, and I paraphrase, that “God longs to give us the desires of our hearts, but He can’t give them to us in the forms in which we want because He knows they will not bring us happiness.” God doesn’t want us to be sad or hurt or lonely. He died so that we may have eternal life of joy! It can only ever be found in Him.

When will I ever learn this lesson? He’s not going to bring me out of this until I do. He’s waiting on me; I’m not waiting on Him…He’s waiting for me to die to myself, take up His cross, and follow Him. Until I do that He can’t, and won’t, reveal the next step.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Loss

Leave a Reply

