transparency

Something that has always been a conviction of mine is the need for Christians to be more transparent. What do I mean by this? I mean that Christians shouldn’t be afraid of our mistakes. We shouldn’t be afraid of our failures. We shouldn’t be afraid of our stumbles. We shouldn’t be afraid of the skeletons. Why? Because through the mistakes, failures, stumbles, and skeletons God’s mercy and grace can be seen to the world around us. When we are able to allow God’s grace to purify us after we have so blatantly fallen into sin, which is an every day occurence for me, He is glorified.

I was speaking to a friend about this particular subject this evening and I was convicted about my facebook profile! I had my privacy settings so private that someone couldn’t even talk to me unless they were my friend! My thought process behind this decision was that I didn’t want those individuals whom I wasn’t friends with before to be able to peer into my life. A reasonable thought process and desire. However, then I would be denying those individuals the opportunity to see what God is doing in my life. It is my RESPONSIBILITY as a Christian to share the love of God with EVERYONE! Not just those whom I got along with in high school or those whom I think I should tell, but EVERYONE! My responsibility! That’s a serious thing to put on a person…someone else’s salvation. Yes, the Holy Spirit moves in a person, and then they have to choose Christ. BUT I have to tell them! I have to tell EVERYONE I can about the love of God! I shouldn’t be satisfied unless I live in a manner that exudes God’s love, mercy, and grace.

The commission given to all Christians: “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit; and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew 28:19-20 (NIV)

What does Jesus say? Go. Make disciples. ALLLL nations. Teach them to obey EVERYTHING I have commanded you. I am with you always…to the VERY END of the age.

Relationships are built on trust. Trust comes easily when you are open and honest about who you are. How are you able to be open and honest? By being transparent.

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith

Leave a Reply

