it is well with my soul!

Tonight I attended an organ recital at HBU, and I have to say it refreshed my soul! The first half of the recital was filled with traditional organ pieces, however the second half was accompanied by voice. It was mainly church hymns. Beautiful hymns of the sovereignty of God. Of the mercy of God. The assurance of God. One of the hymns was “It Is Well With My Soul”.

As it was sung and as the organ filled the chapel space I just closed my eyes and began to revel in the glory of God. The first stanza begins and immediately the author of the text proclaims that “what ever my lot you have taught me to say it is well, it is well with my soul”. What ever my lot? Wow! Just yesterday I was blaming God for not guiding me properly. For not revealing to me His will for my life in a timely fashion! HAHA! How ridiculous am I? Very. What ever my lot, it is well with my soul. What does this mean? It means that despite circumstances in life, if you have Jesus in your heart then your soul is well. WOW! Absorb that. Let it wash over you. If you have Jesus in YOUR heart, then no matter what occurs in life, it is well with your soul. To cool.

The second stanza:

Though the devil will ruin, though trials may come
Let this blessed assurance control
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate
And He shed His own blood for my soul

Read it again. And again. One more time. Christ regarded my helpless estate, and HE shed HIS OWN BLOOD for MY SOUL! MY SOUL! Read it ONE MORE TIME! How many times have we heard, read, seen pictures, and ignored the vastness of what God did? He sent His ONE AND ONLY son. He didn’t have two sons. Three sons. Four sons. ONE, and He sent HIM to die for ME! Why? Because He (God) knew I was completely and utterly unworthy. A mess. Nothing. He knew I needed His blood to be shed in order that I might be redeemed. Check this…it’s not our right to be saved. I realize that as Americans, we (those of you who are American along with me) think that we are entitled to anything we want, buuuuuuut we are not! We aren’t entitled to salvation! It’s not our right! It’s a gift to us that came at the HIGHEST cost! Highest! Who are we to just brush it aside as if we should have had it, but don’t have to really be mindful of it. GAH! I’m not worthy.

Third stanza, check it:

My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought
My sin not in part but the whole
Is nailed to the cross and I bear it no more
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, oh my soul

My sin, not in part but the whole. THE WHOLE! Not one sin. Not two sins. Not three sins, but all 550 BILLION of them! Ok, so that’s probably too small a number, but for the sake of this post we’re gonna go with it. The sins that hadn’t even been committed. He knew I was gonna screw up, and often! He knew, and yet He wanted to make sure that I could be in fellowship with Him. How can I be in fellowship with Him? Only through the redeeming blood of His son am I able to show my pitiful self to Him. PRAISE THE LORD!

Fourth stanza:

And Lord haste the day when my faith shall be sight
And the clouds be rolled back as a scroll
The trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend
Even so, it is well with my soul

This is sooo cool! The trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend. It’s not a maybe someday thing…it’s a FOR SURE thing. God is going to return. He is coming to claim all that is His, and guess what….I’M HIS! I belong to the King of King! SWEET! I’m all His, and only His. I don’t belong to the world. I don’t belong to me. I am NOT in the clutches of the evil one, but rather in gentle yet firm embrace of my heavenly father, Jesus Christ! One day my faith shall indeed be sight. Tangible sight. You ask, does that make sense? Sure. I shall see my savior, and I will be able to touch Him. I see evidence of my savior now, but I can’t touch Him. One day, I will experience tangible sight with my Lord God.

My heart overflows with excitement and adoration for the Creator of all things. I will fail Him. I have failed Him. Life will be hard, and I will stumble. I will hurt. Satan will attack me at ever opportunity. Yet, it is well with my soul.

When peace like a river attendeth my way
When sorrows like sea billows roll
What ever my lot you have taught me to say
It is well, it is well with my soul

It is well, with my soul
It is well, it is well with my soul

Though the devil will ruin, though trials may come
Let this blessed assurance control
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate
And He shed His own blood for my soul

It is well, with my soul
It is well, it is well with my soul

My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought
My sin not in part but the whole
Is nailed to the cross and I bear it no more
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, oh my soul

It is well with my soul
It is well, it is well with my soul

And Lord haste the day when my faith shall be sight
And the clouds be rolled back as a scroll
The trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend
Even so, it is well with my soul

It is well with my soul
It is well, it is well with my soul

2 Comments

Filed under Faith

2 responses to “it is well with my soul!

  1. Melissa Givens

    Lori–

    Beautiful words! Do you know the story of how that hymn came to be written?

    Horatio Spafford had been a lawyer when he decided to answer the call to ministry. He was headed to the Holy Land and went ahead, his wife and daughters planning to come on the next voyage. The second boat was lost in a storm and only Spafford’s wife survived.

    He immediately booked passage on the next US bound ship. While aboard, the captain showed him the spot where his children had died. In the midst of overwhelming grief, instead of blaming or cursing God, he wrote that hymn.

  2. Lori this is so amazing! We hear hymns like these all the time, especially if we’ve grown up around the church, but they take on a whole new meaning when you really sit down and think about them. This is such an encouraging hymn, and I just want you to know that you couldn’t have written this at a better time. Incredible.

Leave a Reply

